What You Need to Know About the Four Levels of Hospice Care

The Four Levels of Hospice Care

No matter how old you are, when some medical issue comes up, it’s automatic to seek support and guidance from experts. When people are about to become parents for the first time, they will undergo both neo- and ante-natal classes. This way, they can be prepared for caring for an infant as well as the trials of childbirth. In the same vein, rehabilitation specialists and the best surgeons are sought out by people who need hip replacements.

Much the same is part of a person’s journey towards the end of their lives. Taking on this same approach will be good for both the patient and his or her loved ones. While some people opt to call on a home care agency in Denver or Phoenix, others choose hospice care. It’s a popular choice for many reasons. Read on to find out more.

What Is Hospice Care?

Hospice care is a type of health care that prioritizes the patient’s quality of life and comfort. It’s really meant for patients who have life-limiting health conditions or illnesses. The approach is holistic, addressing the patient’s spiritual, emotional, physical, and social needs. Most people are able to have hospice care in Colorado Springs or elsewhere covered by a health insurance plan, like the Medical Hospice Benefit.

According to Medicare, hospice care has four distinct levels: routine home care, continuous home care, general inpatient care, and respite care. Depending on the patient’s needs and wishes, they can experience all four of these or just one. Read on to learn more about these four levels.

Routine Hospice Care

As soon as hospice care is accepted by the patient, they will get routine care that’s meant to increase their quality of life and keep them as comfortable as possible. This can include assistance with daily tasks, therapeutic services, symptom management, emotional and spiritual counseling for both the patient and their family, and pain management.

Routine hospice care can be provided anywhere that’s considered home: memory care, an assisted living facility, or the actual home. Care will be based on the needs of the patient, and it’s intermittent.

Continuous Hospice Care

In certain cases, continuous hospice care is called “crisis care.” This typically becomes relevant when a medical crisis is experienced by a patient or when they have symptoms that have escalated. Extended periods or round-the-clock nursing support is beneficial not just to the patient, but also to their family. Caregivers can step back and focus on being in a family role and supporting their loved one that way. 

In-Patient Hospice Care

There are cases wherein the symptoms of a patient can’t be managed from home anymore. At that point, the goal is for symptoms to be stabilized and for severe pain to be controlled. That way, if there’s any chance that the patient can still go home, it can be done.

Respite Care

In this case, short-term stays are possible for home hospice patients within in-patient centers. This allows for loved ones who are serving as caregivers to get a well-deserved break. On the other hand, the round-the-clock symptom management for the patient doesn’t stop or decrease in quality.


During the end-of-life journey of a person, they can opt for hospice care. These are usually covered one way or another by insurances like Medicare. The four levels include routine, continuous, inpatient, and respite care. 

Looking into hospice care in Denver or Phoenix? Get in touch with Gateway Hospice today. We are committed to providing the highest quality home-based patient care.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *